CONGRATULATIONS TO ELLA LARSON FOR BEING SELECTED TO IHSA ALL STATE ACADEMIC TEAM!

IHSA News & Announcements Archive

25

2021 IHSA All-State Academic Team

 
Bookmark and Share

On Friday, February 26, 2021, the IHSA announced the 26 members of the 2021 IHSA All-State Academic Team. The team was revealed in the video message below by IHSA Assistant Executive Director Stacey Lambert:



"Presenting this amazing group of students is always one of the highlights of the school year,” said Lambert. "However, it takes on an even more special meaning given the challenges these young people have faced over the past year. They embody the IHSA’s mission, excelling in the classroom, in addition to the multiple sports and activities that they participate in. It really is an accomplishment just to be nominated for this award, so we commend them for their resiliency in sticking with both their studies and extracurriculars as best as possible during the unprecedented events of the last year.”

Every IHSA member school was invited to nominate one female student and one male student to be a part of this prestigious team. Nominees needed to possess a minimum 3.50 grade point average on a 4.0 scale after their 7th semester, have participated in at least two IHSA sponsored activities during each of the last two years of high school and demonstrated outstanding citizenship. Given the changes to the high school sports and activities schedule caused by the pandemic, students remained eligible for All-State Academic Team if they had planned to participate in their sport or activity.

Honorees are traditionally celebrated at banquet in Bloomington, however, a virtual program is currently in the works for this spring.

The nominations were evaluated by a committee made up of IHSA principals, athletic directors and activities directors. One male winner and one female winner from each of the seven IHSA Board of Directors Divisions were selected initially, while the final 12 spots on the team were then rounded out with at-large candidates from anywhere in the state.


2021 IHSA All-State Academic Team

  • Alexi Fogo, Eureka          
  • Andrew Kribs, Jerseyville (Jersey)
  • Brooke Stromsland, Lake Villa (Lakes)                    
  • Christopher Thulin, Downers Grove (North)
  • Colin Linnen, Chicago (St. Ignatius)          
  • Daniel Renshaw, Mahomet (M.-Seymour)            
  • Elizabeth McNicholas, Chicago (Mother McAuley)
  • Ella Larson, Bloomington (Central Catholic)          
  • Isabel Kapustka, Chicago (Payton)
  • Josh Woodrey, Fairbury (Prairie Central)
  • Justin Mumford, Trenton (Wesclin)         
  • Kate Dickman, LaGrange (Lyons)
  • Katherine Lemke, Wheaton (St. Francis)
  • Katrina Geiersbach, Hinsdale (Central)
  • Kris Shah, Algonquin (Jacobs)    
  • Lydia Roller, Staunton   
  • Molly FitzPatrick, Barrington
  • Nate Youman, Stillman Valley
  • Pierce Cousins, Glen Ellyn (Glenbard West)
  • Rachel Hilby, Rockford (Boylan Catholic)
  • Ryan Wong, Chicago (Lane Tech)
  • Sydney Hartoin, Troy (Triad)
  • Tatum Settelmeyer, St. Charles (North) 
  • Thomas Kavanaugh, Chicago (Marist)
  • Thomas Matheson, Gurnee (Warren)
  • William Braid, Herrin (H.S.)               

3/6/2021 1:21 PM

Staff

Bass

School Name Administration and Athletic Staff

Superintendent

Dr. Sharon Weiss

Principal

Sean Foster

sfoster@blmcchs.org

Assistant Principal

Frank Arnolts

farnolts@blmchhs.org

Athletic Director

Hud Venerable

hvenerable@blmcchs.org

 Administrative Assistant

Lex Osterbuhr

losterbuhr@blmcchs.org

Athletic Trainer

Eleanor Spencer

espencer@advrehab.com

Fall Sports Coaching Staff

Boys Cross Country

Bill Rhodes

bloomingtonrhodes@frontier.com

Boys Golf

 Mike Wieting

mike.wieting.gkh5@statefarm.com

Boys Soccer

 Reza Ghasemi

soccer_coach_reza@yahoo.com

 Cheerleading

 Ameila Slaughter

Slahtr4@gmail.com

Football

 Kevin Braucht

kbraucht@driveappraisal.net

Girls Cross Country

 Bill Rhodes

bloomingtonrhodes@frontier.com

Girls Golf

Dean Glesing

deanglesing@msn.com

Girls Tennis

 Hannah Meece

hannah.meece.ufbz@statefarm.com

Girls Volleyball

Teresa Ulrich

teresa.ulrich19@gmail.com

Girls Swimming

Edie Dean

ediedean@hotmail.com

Winter Sports Coaching Staff

Boys Basketball

 Jason Welch

jwelch@blmcchs.org

Boys Swimming

                                Bill Rhodes

bloomingtonrhodes@frontier.com

Girls Basketball

 Debbie Coffman

coffman70@hotmail.com

Spring Sports Coaching Staff

Bass Fishing

                                 Jeff Sikora

jeff@jmhcpa.net

Boys Baseball

     Nick Knight

       bcc.baseball.6@gmail.com  

Boys Tennis

 Laura Ballard

laura@lablegal.com

Boys Track & Field

 TBD

Girls Softball

  Jeff Schade

jschade2323@gmail.com

Girls Soccer

       Reza Ghasemi

soccer_coach_reza@yahoo.com

Girls Track & Field

Brian Rossi

rossibd10@gmail.com