FALL 2020 ATHLETICS UPDATE

FALL 2020 ATHLETICS UPDATE

 

MIDDLE SCHOOL:  The MNC’s Administrative Team will continue to reassess the feasible options available to us in regards to the Winter Sports season moving forward as we await updated guidance and direction from our state and local governing bodies.  Winter Sports currently offered at GKMS are Boys & Girls Basketball, Wrestling and Cheerleading.  The MNC is currently in communication with the IESA and other local conferences to determine a plan of action moving forward in regards to the potential of restructuring and rescheduling the remaining sports calendar for 2020-2021 to potentially mirror the IHSA High School recommendations to move Volleyball, Football and Cross Country to the Spring.

 

HIGH SCHOOL:  Boys & Girls Cross Country and Boys & Girls Golf will now be the only Fall Sports available (in a modified format which is yet to be defined) to GKHS students during the upcoming Fall season.  However, there will be restrictions and limitations for players, coaches and spectators this Fall.  To see all of the new and updated modifications regarding Golf and Cross Country, please go to the following sites:

https://www.ihsa.org/Resources/COVID-19#3045137-golf

https://www.ihsa.org/Resources/COVID-19#3045135-cross-country

The traditional High School Fall Sports including Football, Boys Soccer, Girls Volleyball, Sideline Cheer and Performance Dance will now be moved to the early Spring.  The traditional Winter sports including Boys & Girls Basketball, Wrestling, Competitive Cheer and Competitive Dance will now begin in late November.  The traditional Spring sports including Boys & Girls Track, Girls Soccer, Baseball and Softball will now take place in late Spring and into the early Summer months.  Schedules on the GK Athletic website https://il.8to18.com/g-k/ for each of these sports are being updated daily to reflect changes made.  Please note that many of these schedules are not finalized and are currently in a state of transition.

 

The Athletic Directors and Administrators from both the MNC and BNC Conferences are currently in communication and developing a strategy for how to proceed moving forward.  We will do our best to communicate any new information as it becomes available to us.  Also, online registration processes, re-assigning of officials and event workers, new transportation departure schedules and a slew of other logistical scenarios need to be developed and established.  We will need parents, student-athletes and coaches alike to be extremely patient as these new guidelines offer many potential pitfalls and challenges.  Please bear with us as we navigate through these new guidelines and hopefully receive more clarification from the IHSA moving forward.  Thank you for your patience and your continued support of the Genoa-Kingston Athletic Department.

 

Future updates will be posted on our Facebook and Twitter social media sites @GKCogsAthletics and on our GK Athletic website at https://il.8to18.com/g-k

9/30/2020 1:40 PM

About Us

Genoa (G.-Kingston)

 
Genoa-Kingston High School

980 Park Ave.

Genoa, IL 60135

Phone: 815-784-5111

Fax: 815-784-3124

 

 

Genoa-Kingston Middle School

941 W. Main St.

Genoa, IL 60135

Phone: 815-784-5222

Fax: 815-784-4323

 

School Web Site: www.gkschools.org

 

HS Enrollment: 565

HS Conference: Big Northern Conference

 

MS Enrollment: 435 (6th, 7th, 8th)

MS Conference(s): Mid-Northern: XC, Volleyball, Basketball & Track,  NCJC (North Central Jr. High Conference): Football,  Wrestling is Independent

 

Nickname(s): Cogs (boys), Cogs (girls)

Colors: Royal Blue/Orange

School Type: Public Coed

County: DeKalb

Cities in District: Genoa 5,187; Kingston 1,160

Board Division: 2, Legislative District: 5

Administration

IHSA Official Representative: Philip Jerbi  pjerbi@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5111.1716   fax 815-784-3124

IESA Official Representative: Philip Jerbi  pjerbi@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5111.1716   fax 815-784-3124

Superintendent: Brent O'Daniell  bodaniell@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-6222  

HS Principal: Angelo Lekkas  alekkas@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5111   fax 815-784-3124

HS Principal's Assistant: Jen Butler  jbutler@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5111.1112   fax 815-784-3124

HS Asst. Principal: Tessa Aiossa  taiossa@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5111.1736   fax 815-784-3124

MS Principal: Craig Butcher  cbutcher@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5222   fax 815-784-4323

MS Principal's Assistant: Michelle Muir  mmuir@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5222.4501   fax 815-784-4323

MS Asst. Principal: Alapati (Paki) Uili  auili@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5222   fax 815-784-4323

District Athletic Director: Philip Jerbi  pjerbi@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5111.1716   fax 815-784-3124

Athletic Director's Assistant: Maria Miranda  mmiranda@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5111.1717   fax 815-784-3124

Activities Director: Philip Jerbi  pjerbi@gkschools.org
   phone 815-784-5111.1716   fax 815-784-3124

Boys Athletics — Head Coaches

Boys Baseball Head Coach: Roger Butler  rbutler@gkschools.org

Boys Basketball Head Coach: Ethan Franklin  efranklin@gkschools.org

Boys Cross Country Head Coach: Tiffany Thurlby  tthurlby@gkschools.org

Boys Football Head Coach: Chad Wilmarth  cwilmar@gkschools.org

Boys Golf Head Coach: Mike Lauer  mlauer@gkschools.org

Boys Soccer Head Coach: Randy Tate  rtate@gkschools.org

Boys Track & Field Head Coach: Cam Davekos  cdavekos@gkschools.org

Boys Wrestling Head Coach: Chad Wilmarth  cwilmar@gkschools.org

MS Boys Basketball Head Coach: Justin McNeal  justmcneal10@gmail.com

MS Boys Cross Country Head Coach: Briana Vitacco  bvitacco@gkschools.org

MS Boys Football Head Coach: Don McCune  dmccune@gkschools.org

MS Boys Track & Field Head Coach: Steve Harrington  sharring@gkschools.org

MS Boys Wrestling Head Coach: Stewie Burke  sburk34@gmail.com

Girls Athletics — Head Coaches

Girls Basketball Head Coach: Brendan Royalty  broyalty@gkschools.org

Girls Cross Country Head Coach: Ben Owen  bowen@gkschools.org

Competitive Cheerleading Head Coach: Emily Schiro  eschiro@gkschools.org

Competitive Dance Head Coach: Brittany Foster  bfoster@gkschools.org

Girls Golf Head Coach: Kyle Carbone  kcarbone@gkschools.org

Girls Softball Head Coach: Erica Swan  eswan@gkschools.org

Girls Soccer Head Coach: Randy Tate  rtate@gkschools.org

Girls Track & Field Head Coach: Barry Schmidt  bschmidt@gkschools.org

Girls Volleyball Head Coach: Keith Foster  kfoster@gkschools.org

MS Girls Basketball Head Coach: Laura Volkening  Lvolkening@gkschools.org

MS Girls Cross Country Head Coach: Christy Fraticola  cfraticola@gkschools.org

MS Girls Volleyball  Head Coach: Laura Volkening  Lvolkening@gkschools.org

MS Girls Cheerleading Head Coach: Jemea Green  jemgreen97@yahoo.com

MS Girls Track & Field Head Coach: Brian Ferguson  bferguson@gkschools.org

Athletic Medical Staff

Certified Athletic Trainer: Amanda Pollnow  apollnow@gkschools.org

Activities — Head Coaches, Advisers, and Directors

HS Band Director: Tom Rucker  trucker@gkschools.org

MS Band Director: Brian Ferguson  bferguson@gkschools.org

Vocal Director: Jon Fromi  jfromi@gkschools.org

Marching Band Director: Tom Rucker  trucker@gkschools.org

HS Scholastic Bowl Coach: Stephanie Henkel  shenkel@gkschools.org

HS Journalism & Yearbook: Leslie Pascolla  Lpascolla@gkschools.org

HS Math Team Coach: Tiffany Rauman  trauman@gkschools.org

Non-Competitive Activities — Head Coaches, Advisers, and Directors

HS Sideline Cheer Coach: Emily Schiro  eschiro@gkschools.org

HS Halftime Dance Coach: Brittany Foster  bfoster@gkschools.org

MS Sideline Cheer Coach: Jemea Green  jemgreen97@yahoo.com