11.18.2020: Winter Sports Update

Parents and Athletes,
 
Yesterday, the Governor announced a new set of mitigations under his Tier 3 Mitigation Plan.  As part of his plan, he has called for a temporary pause of all indoor youth sports.  We received word from the Illinois State Board of Education that this includes interscholastic sports as well.  As a result, we will be enacting a temporary pause of all of our remaining winter indoor sports (bowling, cheer, dance, girls gymnastics, and boys swimming) beginning on Friday November 20, 2020.  Our last day of in person winter practices will be Thursday, November 19.  As we receive more information during this pause, we will communicate with the coaches of each sport who will then notify athletes and parents within their program.  We do plan to have our groups and teams connect virtually while we are in this pause.
 
Glenbard West High School, our Athletic Department, and our Coaches are dedicated to doing everything we can to help our athletes have a safe and successful season.  We understand the importance of athletics and the impact it can have on our athletes.  
 
We understand that this is a difficult time for our athletes.  Many of them have worked so hard for this opportunity.  If there is anything we can do please reach out to me or any of our coaches if we can do anything to help.  
 
Please see link below to watch a recording of the 11.29.2020 Basketball & Winter Sports Webinar.  

12/31/2020 10:30 PM

Staff

Superintendent

Dr. David Larson

Principal

Dr. Peter Monaghan

Assistant Principal For Athletics

Joseph Kain

joseph_kain@glenbard.org

Assistant Athletic Director

Pete Mastandrea

peter_mastandrea@glenbard.org

Assistant Principal for Curriculum

Rebecca Sulaver

rebecca_sulaver@glenbard.org

Assistant Principal For

Building Operations

Stacy Scumaci

athanasia@scumaci@glenbard.org

Assistant Principal For

Student Services

Christopher Mitchell

christopher_mitchell@glenbard.org

Administrative Assistant

Ellen Reifel

ellen_reifel@glenbard.org

Athletic Trainers


  Jen Melzer

  jennifer_melzer@glenbard.org

Bowling

Nick Szarzak

nicholas_szarzak@glenbard.org

Cheerleading Coach

 Michelle Gatz  

michelle_gatz@glenbard.org

Dance

Melissa Johnson

melissa_johnson@glenbard.org

Baseball

  Andy Schultz

  andrew_schultz@glenbard.org

Boys Basketball

Jason Opoka

jason_opoka@glenbard.org

Boys' Cross Country

Kyle Nugent

kyle_nugent@glenbard.org

Football

Chad Hetlet

chad_hetlet@glenbard.org

Boys Golf

Paul Hezlett

paul_hezlett@glenbard.org

Boys Gymnastics

TBA

Boys Lacrosse

Eric Nuss

eric_nuss@glenbard.org

Boys Soccer

Maciej Kusmierz

maciej_kusmierz@glenbard.org

Boys Swim

Marc Beard

marc_beard@glenbard.org

Boys Tennis

Tad Keely

  tad_keely@glenbard.org

Boys Track & Field

Jon Schweighardt

jonathan_schweighardt@glenbard.org

Boys Volleyball

Christine Giunta-Mayer

christinegiunta@hotmail.com

Wrestling

Nick Posegay   

nicholas_posegay@glenbard.org

Girls Basketball

  Kristi Faulkner

  kristin_faulkner@glenbard.org

Girls Cross Country

Paul Hass

paul_hass@glenbard.org

Field Hockey

 Karen Judge

kjudge52@att.net

Girls Lacrosse

Jerry Considine

jerry_considine@glenbard.org

Girls Swim

Miles Ritchie

miles_ritchie@glenbard.org