IHSA / Governor Pritzker Announce a 'Pause' to all Winter Sports

IHSA Executive Director Craig Anderson:
“The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) recognizes that today’s announcement (November 17, 2020) by Governor Pritzker will temporarily pause the IHSA’s winter sports season. We remain optimistic that these new mitigations, coupled with the emergence of a vaccine, will aid in creating participation opportunities in the New Year for IHSA student-athletes in winter, spring, and summer sports. The IHSA Board of Directors will meet as scheduled on November 19, 2020, to continue plotting out potential paths for IHSA sport and activity participation through the remainder of the school year. Although representatives from the Governor’s office and the Illinois Department of Public Health will be unable to attend the meeting, today’s updated guidance from Governor Pritzker will aid the Board’s decision-making. We have asked Deputy Governor Ruiz and Dr. Ezike to engage with us in the near future, so that we can collaborate on developing a plan to safely conduct IHSA sports and activities as soon as possible. IHSA schools have been exemplary in adhering to state regulations throughout this pandemic and we hope that non-school programs will hold themselves to the same standard as we all put the long-term health and safety of our fellow citizens ahead of short-term athletic competition.”

 

Competition Cheer and Pom & Dance practices have been put on hold until further notice. 

12/8/2020 12:00 PM

IHSA Return to Play Fall/Winter/Spring/Summer Sport Dates 2020-2021

Fall Season (August 10, 2020 - October 24, 2020)

 

 

Boys Golf - Head Coach Dave Reed; dreed4220@gmail.com

Girls Golf - Head Coach Chuck Rohlf; crohlf@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Cross Country - Head Coach Matt Lindgren; mlindgren@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Cross Country - Head Coach Joe Wejman; jwejman@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Tennis - Head Coach Lisa Straface; lstraface@nazarethacademy.com

 

 

Winter Season (November 16, 2020 - February 13, 2021)

Registration will open TBA

 

 

Boys Basketball - Head Coach Sean Pearson; spearson@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Basketball - Head Coach Eddie Stritzel; estritzel@nazarethacademy.com

Competitive Cheer - Head Coach Jessica Darwish; jdarwish@nazarethacademy.com

Competitive Dance - Head Coach Katie Broenneke; kbroenneke@nazarethacademy.com

 

 

Spring Season (February 15, 2021 - May 1, 2021)

Registration will open February 1, 2021

 

 

Football - Head Coach Tim Racki; tracki@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Soccer - Head Coach Alex Wilkinson; awilkinson@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Volleyball - Head Coach Melissa Masterson; mvandrey@nazarethacademy.com

 

 

Summer Season (April 19, 2021 - June 26, 2021)

Registration will open April 5, 2021

 

Baseball - Head Coach Lee Milano; coachleemilano@sbcglobal.net

Softball - Head Coach Vicki Sobol; vsobol@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Track - Head Coach Paris Lewis; plewis@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Track - Head Coach Cora Byrne; cbyrne@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Soccer - Head Coach Alex Wilkinson; awilkinson@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Volleyball - Head Coach Jen Milligan; jmilligan@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Lacrosse - Head Coach Mike Turner; mturner@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Lacrosse - Head Coach Michael Mossing; mmossing@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Tennis - Head Coach Jaydon Barello; jbarello@nazarethacademy.com

Wrestling - Head Coach Denis Laughlin; dlaughlin@nazarethacademy.com

4/30/2021 12:00 AM

School Directions

 

 
DIRECTIONS TO NAZARETH ACADEMY:
  FROM THE EAST -Take the Eisenhower Expressway (I-290 West). Exit South at Mannheim (LaGrange Road). Take Manheim South about 4 miles to Ogden Ave. Turn right (West) to 1209 W. Ogden Avenue. (approximately 3/4 of a mile). The school is on the right (North) side of the street located next to the Sisters of St. Joseph Chapel.  
  FROM THE WEST -Take I-88 East to I294 South. Exit East at Ogden to 1209 W. Ogden (about 2 miles).  The school is on the right (North) side of the street located next to the Sisters of St. Joseph Chapel.  
  FROM THE NORTH - TAKE I-294 South. Exit East at Ogden Avenue to 1209 W. Ogden (about 2 miles). The school is on the left (North) side of the street next to the Sisters of St. Joseph Chapel.  
  FROM THE SOUTH -TAKE I-294 North. Exit East at Ogden Avenue to 1209 W. Ogden (about 2 miles). The school is on the left (North) side of the street next to the Sisters of St. Joseph Chapel.  

PLAYING SITES BY SPORT

BOYS BASEBALL
  Varsity and Sophomore Levels -
R.J. SANDERS FIELD:  is located at the north end of the Nazareth Academy campus. Enter the campus from Ogden Avenue and drive past the main entrance of the school. Parking is just southwest of the field.
Sophomore and Freshman Levels -
MEMORIAL PARK: is located on the NE corner of LaGrange Rd. and Woodlawn Ave. in LaGrange Park. Continue past Nazareth east of Ogden about 1 mile to LaGrange Rd. Turn left onto LaGrange Rd. Take LaGrange Rd. to Woodlawn Ave. (first street past first light). Turn right onto Woodlawn. The Park is on your left, parking at the bottom of the hill.
GLADSTONE PARK: Gladstone Park is located off of Roosevelt Road on Kitchner Street.  From Nazareth go east on Ogden.  Turn Left on La Grange Road.  Turn Right at Roosevelt Road.  Then make a left on Kitchner Street.  Go about two blocks and the park is located on the left side.
MAYFAIR PARK: Mayfair Park is located off of 31st Street on Mayfair Avenue.  From Nazareth go west on Ogden.  Turn right at Wolf Road.  When you reach 31st Street make a right.  Go about a mile and make a left on Mayfair Avenue.  Continue on Mayfair for three blocks and make a left on Wakefield Street.  Park is on the right.
All Levels (Offseaon and/or tryout sites):
LA GRANGE PARK DISTRICT - (Bulls/Sox Academy)
La Grange Park District is located off of East Avenue and 47th Street.  From Nazareth go east on Ogden.  Turn Right on East Avenue.  Continue down East Avenue and the Park District is located on the right, before 47th Street.
MAX: The Max is located off of 47th Street.  From Nazareth go east on Ogden.  Turn right onto East Avenue.  When you reach 47th Street (by RR tracks), make a left.  Go to Vernon Avenue and make a right.  The Max is on the right.
 
BASKETBALL
  NAZARETH ACADEMY ROONEY CENTER: The Rooney Student Center is located at the north end of the Nazareth Academy Building. Use the Athletic Entrance next to Spirit Field.  
CROSS COUNTRY
  SUNDOWN MEADOWS FOREST PRESERVE:
Sundown Meadows Forest Preserve is one of many facilities Nazareth Academy competes at.  The Forest Preserve is a part of the Cook County system and is located just off of LaGrange Road (Mannheim Road) south of Joliet Road.  The entrance is on the west side of LaGrange Road just off the Stevenson Expressway.  
 
FOOTBALL
  NAZARETH ACADEMY VALENTA STADIUM
Named after Joan Valenta, the stadium is located at the north end of the Nazareth Academy Campus. Enter the campus from Ogden Avenue and drive past the main entrance of the school. Parking is just west of the field.
 
BOYS GOLF
  BROKEN ARROW GOLF COURSE
16535 Broken Arrow Drive, Lockport, Illinois 60441
Clubhouse phone number is 815-836-8858
The Golf Course is located in Lockport. Take I-55 and exit south on I 355. Turn right onto Route 7, go 3/4 mile and turn left onto Farrel Rd.  Travel 2 miles and turn left onto Broken Arrow Drive. Follow road to Clubhouse.
 
GIRLS GOLF
  MEADOWLARK GOLF COURSE:11599 Oak Brook Rd, Oak Brook, IL 60523 Clubhouse phone number is 708-562-2977.  The Golf Course is located 2.45 miles from the Nazareth Academy Campus in Oak Brook. From Wolf Road go west on 31st Street (Oak Brook Road) 0.5 miles. The entrance and parking is on the left (south) of 31st Street.  
 SOCCER
  VALENTA STADIUM ON THE NAZARETH ACADEMY CAMPUS:  named after Joan Valenta, all varsity and many lower level games are played on Valenta Stadium located at the north end of the Nazareth Academy Campus. Enter the campus from Ogden Avenue and drive past the main entrance of the school. Parking is just west of the field.
OAK BROOK PARK DISTRICT (many of our JV, Sophomore and Freshman games are played here): Oak Brook Park District's address is 1450 Forest Gate in Oak Brook. The entrance to the facility is located west of Jorie Blvd just north of 31st Street..
 
SOFTBALL
 

JOHN MICHALEK SOFTBALL FIELD located on the NAZARETH ACADEMY CAMPUS: All varsity and most JV softball games are played on Michalek Field located on the Nazareth Academy Campus.                                                                   MAYFAIR PARK: On occasion, Nazareth will play JV softball at Mayfair Park in Westchester.  Mayfair Park is located off of 31st Street on Mayfair Avenue.  From Nazareth go west on Ogden.  Turn a right at Wolf Road.  When you reach 31st Street make a right.  Go about a mile and make a left on Mayfair Avenue.  Continue on Mayfair for three blocks and make a left on Wakefield Street.  Park is on the right.

 
TENNIS
  NAZARETH TENNIS COURTS:  The newly constructed tennis facility is located on the Nazareth Academy Campus at the north end.   
TRACK & FIELD
  ALL MEETS ARE AT AWAY LOCATIONS.  Click on the top of the page for directions to ESCC schools or other school directions.  
VOLLEYBALL
  NAZARETH ACADEMY ROONEY CENTER: The Rooney Student Center is located at the north end of the Nazareth Academy Building. Use the Athletic Entrance next to Valenta Stadium.
 
BOYS HOCKEY
  FRANKLIN PARK ICE RINK: 9711 W. Waveland Ave. Franklin Park, IL 60131.  The Rink is located 13.4 miles away from Nazareth.  From Nazareth, Take La Grange Road North.  Take it all the way to Addison Avenue and go East.  Go to Ruby Street and go North.  Then go east on Waveland Avenue to the Rink.  
LACROSSE
  NAZARETH ACADEMY SPIRIT FIELD:  All levels of Boys and Girls Lacrose are played at the VALENTA STADIUM.  The Stadium is located at the north end of the Nazareth Academy Campus. Enter the campus from Ogden Avenue and drive past the main entrance of the school. Parking is just west of the field.