IHSA / Governor Pritzker Announce a 'Pause' to all Winter Sports

IHSA Executive Director Craig Anderson:
“The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) recognizes that today’s announcement (November 17, 2020) by Governor Pritzker will temporarily pause the IHSA’s winter sports season. We remain optimistic that these new mitigations, coupled with the emergence of a vaccine, will aid in creating participation opportunities in the New Year for IHSA student-athletes in winter, spring, and summer sports. The IHSA Board of Directors will meet as scheduled on November 19, 2020, to continue plotting out potential paths for IHSA sport and activity participation through the remainder of the school year. Although representatives from the Governor’s office and the Illinois Department of Public Health will be unable to attend the meeting, today’s updated guidance from Governor Pritzker will aid the Board’s decision-making. We have asked Deputy Governor Ruiz and Dr. Ezike to engage with us in the near future, so that we can collaborate on developing a plan to safely conduct IHSA sports and activities as soon as possible. IHSA schools have been exemplary in adhering to state regulations throughout this pandemic and we hope that non-school programs will hold themselves to the same standard as we all put the long-term health and safety of our fellow citizens ahead of short-term athletic competition.”

 

Competition Cheer and Pom & Dance practices have been put on hold until further notice. 

12/8/2020 12:00 PM

IHSA Return to Play Fall/Winter/Spring/Summer Sport Dates 2020-2021

Fall Season (August 10, 2020 - October 24, 2020)

 

 

Boys Golf - Head Coach Dave Reed; dreed4220@gmail.com

Girls Golf - Head Coach Chuck Rohlf; crohlf@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Cross Country - Head Coach Matt Lindgren; mlindgren@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Cross Country - Head Coach Joe Wejman; jwejman@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Tennis - Head Coach Lisa Straface; lstraface@nazarethacademy.com

 

 

Winter Season (November 16, 2020 - February 13, 2021)

Registration will open TBA

 

 

Boys Basketball - Head Coach Sean Pearson; spearson@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Basketball - Head Coach Eddie Stritzel; estritzel@nazarethacademy.com

Competitive Cheer - Head Coach Jessica Darwish; jdarwish@nazarethacademy.com

Competitive Dance - Head Coach Katie Broenneke; kbroenneke@nazarethacademy.com

 

 

Spring Season (February 15, 2021 - May 1, 2021)

Registration will open February 1, 2021

 

 

Football - Head Coach Tim Racki; tracki@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Soccer - Head Coach Alex Wilkinson; awilkinson@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Volleyball - Head Coach Melissa Masterson; mvandrey@nazarethacademy.com

 

 

Summer Season (April 19, 2021 - June 26, 2021)

Registration will open April 5, 2021

 

Baseball - Head Coach Lee Milano; coachleemilano@sbcglobal.net

Softball - Head Coach Vicki Sobol; vsobol@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Track - Head Coach Paris Lewis; plewis@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Track - Head Coach Cora Byrne; cbyrne@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Soccer - Head Coach Alex Wilkinson; awilkinson@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Volleyball - Head Coach Jen Milligan; jmilligan@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Lacrosse - Head Coach Mike Turner; mturner@nazarethacademy.com

Girls Lacrosse - Head Coach Michael Mossing; mmossing@nazarethacademy.com

Boys Tennis - Head Coach Jaydon Barello; jbarello@nazarethacademy.com

Wrestling - Head Coach Denis Laughlin; dlaughlin@nazarethacademy.com

4/30/2021 12:00 AM

Staff

 

Nazareth Logo.

NAZARETH ACADEMY ATHLETICS

Administration and Athletic Staff

Position

Name

President

Debbie Tracy

Principal

Therese Hawkins

Academic Dean

Sister Terry Middendorf

Director of Curriculum and Instruction

Jessica Radogno

Dean of Students

Tim Racki

Student Activities

Catherine Hamm

Athletic Director

Dennis Moran

708-387-8517

Assistant Athletic Director

Kimberly Connell

708-387-8556

 

 

Team Doctors

Dr. Tom Nelson 

Dr. Steven Chudik

Athletic Trainer

Jessica Liutkus

708-387-8584

Transportation

Kimberly Connell

708-387-8556

Fall Sports

Sport

Coaches

Boys Cross Country

Head Varsity:  Matt Lindgren

Assistant Varsity:  Mike Sliwinski

Boys Golf

Head Varsity:  David Reed

Head JV: Ray Jilek

Boys Soccer

Head Varsity:  Alex Wilkinson

Assistant Varsity:  Michael Mossing

Head JV:  Carl Brandon

Assistant JV: David Caldwell

Head F/S:  Nick Strobl

Assistant F/S:  TBD

Football

Head Varsity:  Tim Racki

Assistant Varsity:  Casey Moran

Assistant Varsity:  Joe Battaglia

Assistant Varsity:  Jonathan Bittle

Assistant Varsity:  Brody Budmayr

Assistant Varsity:  Keith Lukes

Assistant Varsity:  Rudy Luna

Assistant Varsity:  Andy Miller

Assistant Varsity:  Tom Minogue

Assistant Varsity:  Tony Navigato

Assistant Varsity:  Mack Nelson

Assistant Varsity:  Joe Reynolds

Assistant Varsity:  Jeff Tumpane

Assistant Varsity:  Larry White

Assistant Varsity:  Jim Zimmerman

Assistant Varsity:  Joe Felice

Head F/S:  Todd Jones

Assistant F/S:  Marco Alvarez

Assistant F/S:  Ed Cogan

Assistant F/S:  Antonio Miranda

Assistant F/S:  Rod Molek

Assistant F/S:  Roy Verdin

Girls Cross Country

Head Varsity:  Joe Wejman

Assistant Varsity:  Anthony Gonzalez 

Girls Golf

Head Varsity:  Nicole Jerary

Assistant Varsity:  TBD

Head JV: TBD

Girls Tennis

Head Varsity:  Lisa Straface

Assistant Varsity:  Susan Winters

Head Sophomore:  Jane Veldman

Assistant Sophomore:  Jami Nordenstam

Girls Volleyball

Head Varsity: Melissa Masterson

Assistant Varsity: Kyle Masterson

Head Sophomore: Courtney Keefe

Assistant Sophmore: TBD

Head Freshman: Nathan Erdal

Marching Band

Director:  Mike Sliwinski

Cheer - Sideline

Head Varsity:  Jessica Darwish

Assistant Varsity:  Alexander Landeros

Pom and Dance - Sideline

Head Varsity:  Katie Broenneke

Assistant Varsity:  Kristen Yarka

Winter Sports

Sport

Coaches

Boys Basketball

Head Varsity:  Sean Pearson

Assistant Varsity:  TBD

Assistant Varsity:  David King

Head Sophomore:  Paris Lewis

Assistant Sophomore:  Henry Adams

Head Freshmen:  John Weyer

Assistant Freshmen:  Alex Wilkinson

Girls Basketball

Head Varsity:  Eddie Stritzel

Assistant Varsity:  Jeff Krason

Assistant Varsity:  Nicole Wehner

Head Sophomore:  Brian McManaman

Assistant Sophomore:  Jennifer Larson

Head Freshman:  Juan Gamboa

Assistant Freshman:  Andrew Ezell

Boys Wrestling

Head Varsity:  Denis Laughlin

Assistant Varsity:  TBD

Head JV:  TBD


Boys Hockey

Head Varsity:  Danny VanGronigen

Cheer - Competition

Head Varsity:  Jessica Darwish

Assistant Varsity:  Alexander Landeros

Pom & Dance - Competition

Head Varsity:  Katie Broenneke

Assistant Varsity:  Kristen Yarka

Pep Band

Director:  Mike Sliwinski

Spring Sports

Sport

Coaches

Boys Baseball

Head Varsity:  Lee Milano

Assistant Varsity:  John Saraceno

Assistant Varsity:  Rod Molek

Assistant Varsity:  Rudy Luna

Head Sophomore:  Mario Ortiz

Assistant Sophomore:  Erich Kittlaus

Head Freshmen:  Todd Jones

Assistant Freshmen:  Eric Turner

Boys Tennis

Head Varsity:  Jaydon Barello

Head JV: Marco Alvarez

Boys Volleyball

Head Varsity:  Jennifer Milligan

Assistant Varsity:  Shane Frisbie

Head JV:  TBD

Assistant JV:  TBD

Boys Track & Field

Head Varsity:  Paris Lewis

Assistant Varsity:  David King

Boys Lacrosse

Head Varsity:  Mike Turner

Assistant Varsity: Mack Nelson

Head JV:  Joe Felice

Assistant JV:  Mack Nelson

Girls Softball

Head Varsity:  Vicki Sobol

Assistant Varsity:  Laura Enriquez

Assistant Varsity:  Scott Sobol

Head JV:  Molly Bealin

Assistant JV:  Brian McManaman

Girls Soccer

Head Varsity:  Alex Wilkinson

Assistant Varsity:  MaryKate Cicinelli

Head JV:  Carl Brandon

Assistant JV:  Nick Strobl

Freshman:  TBD

Girls Track & Field

Head Varsity:  Cora Byrne

Assistant Varsity:  TBD

Assistant Varsity:  TBD

Girls Lacrosse

Head Varsity:  Michael Mossing

Assistant Varsity:  Cate Lewellyn

Head JV:  JJ Albarran

Assistant JV:  Jennifer Larson